my new blog starts here

Well, here I am starting my woodturner’s diary.

I have been rather busy lately in the workshop. Recent projects included making a mulberry bowl and some pearwood bowls for a customer who brought me chunks of the timber from a felled tree in his garden.

Mulberry is a colourful wood, yellow, with nice grain. I got a chunk of it from a local tree surgeon a few months ago and was surprised how stable it turned out to be – hardly any movement at all in the drying blanks. A pity I only have enough for 3 or 4 bowls.

I also made a large batch of wooden hearts (wedding favours, not a turning job) and a batch of 50 of my wooden mice for a company wanting them as gifts for clients. I was able to make some of the hearts from burr mulberry, they came out very nicely and my customer seemed very happy with them.

About Terry

Terry has been turning wood in London for many years. He makes wooden bowls, cute little wooden mice and other gift items.
This entry was posted in Woodturning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

