Bad luck with some bowls

Not much actual turning today. I have been working on a prototype of a big new globe stand.

I was looking over some of my recent bowl rough-outs and was disappointed to find a lot of rejects. Over the past few months I have acquired two lots of oak and a log of elder. Most of the oak came from a very old tree that had been taken down due to disease. The trunk had been sawn up into boards by its owner, the logs I used were the larger branches. The elderberry log was unusually large in diameter, and elder bowls are not often seen, so I hoped it would be of value. I roughed out quite a lot of bowls in the usual way and put them aside to dry, just as normal. Soon they started splitting at the edges. Some are OK and some I can salvage, but I think more than half will go to waste. I always lose a few, but these logs have been very disappointing. Other rough-outs over this same period have come out fine – some sycamore from Kennington, some mulberry, some ash and another lot of sycamore have all been successful and I hope to finish turn the rough-outs and get them on my bowl pages fairly soon.

About Terry

Terry has been turning wood in London for many years. He makes wooden bowls, cute little wooden mice and other gift items.
This entry was posted in Woodturning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

