Another day in the workshop

Today I spent some more time on the prototype globe stand I mentioned yesterday. This involved a lot of gluing and clamping to make large blocks for the turning stage. I hope it will prove popular for sales at Greaves and Thomas.

I also fished out a small bowl rough-out that I started a few months back. At the time, with the wood freshly felled and full of sap, it was a brilliant red in colour, very striking. I thought it looked like plane, judging by the grain, but I was not sure owing to the colour, which I haven’t seen before in that species. It came from the local tree surgeon’s log pile. The trouble with that is that I cannot always be sure what I am getting. Now it has dried thoroughly and the red has faded to pink(ish). I am more confident now in saying it is plane. It distorted a lot while seasoning (all trued up during the re-turning) and now has a number of small fissures, so will never be a very practical piece, but I think it looks good. It has the flecks in the grain that are characteristic of plane. When the surface of the wood is cut at the right angle to the log’s grain direction these flecks form a pattern. The wood is then sometimes called lacewood, and the part of this bowl where the pattern shows is lacewood. There wasn’t much of this timber though, just enough for three or four little bowls.

This colour change often happens when wood dries. The turner is sometimes the only person who gets to see the full beauty of the wood. The moment when I turn off the lathe and see the freshly turned surface is always one to look forward to.

About Terry

Terry has been turning wood in London for many years. He makes wooden bowls, cute little wooden mice and other gift items.
This entry was posted in Woodturning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

