Today’s job

Today I had to reduce in size a big mahogany disc I made previously to fit the base of a large globe stand destined for export. I make these for my friend James at Greaves and Thomas – he is a globemaker. The correct finished size is 1 metre diameter. To do this I first had to turn my very heavy Graduate lathe through 180 degrees. Then lift up the disc with its same-size and also very heavy faceplate onto the lathe spindle nose. Not easy physically, but the turning itself was straightforward, just taking surplus wood off the edge and reshaping the edge. I have two more to do the same, that will teach me to be more careful when checking dimensions!

About Terry

Terry has been turning wood in London for many years. He makes wooden bowls, cute little wooden mice and other gift items.
This entry was posted in Woodturning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment